Who Really Owns Your Online Handmade Shop?

Blue Pendant from tehlia.com

edit listing page

On my days off from the “Regular Day Job” I like to take an hour and read through some of my favorite Handmade Blogs. This morning I came across a post from Handmadeology. It was about Etsy, a shop and what can happen if you don’t read the fine print.

I was just about to re-do my Item descriptions and thought this might be a good read before I get knee-deep into editing and deleting. This post got me thinking even more about where I want my own shop to go. How I want to take it to another level. Be more independent, take my world and own it. It has been on my mind for a while and I have determined it is the next step in my future success. But now I have even more proof that it needs to happen sooner than later.

handmadeology

This was the HUGE point of the post, along with being prepared for the worst,

“The point of this story is not to bash Etsy as a selling platform. This was a wake-up call for me, and I wanted to turn it into a friendly warning for you. I thought I owned my small business, but by having my only presence on Etsy, it turns out that I didn’t. Etsy owns the shops they host, and they reserve the right to manage them however they choose.”

So while I take a few hours to edit and continue to upload items to my “Etsy Owned” online shop I am searching the web for alternatives to selling Online. Studying the list that Lisa Jacobs from Energy Shop Jewelry & Marketing Creativity has provided. Hop over to Handmadeology to read the entire Post.

Share with us

Where have you taken your starter etsy shop to?

What ecommerce sites do you Use?

One thought on “Who Really Owns Your Online Handmade Shop?

Leave a Reply

