Cultivating A Creative Business: Keeping the “why didn’t I…” away

A few months ago I started focusing my creativity into building a graphic and web design identity. Finding and working my way through as many free tutorials that I could find. Building and adding to my tool box. I would work on small projects to help friends out on their journey through starting a creative business, and volunteering to design flyers for elementary school activities. Liking, even loving what I was doing but knowing I needed to do more, learn more and work harder.

Then I came across a quote from Laura K Roeder‘s Fanpage

“A year from now, you will wish you had started today.” – Karen Lamb

handmade stamp from foam

handmade stamp from foam on a blank canvas

All the… I wish I had have just jumped. I should have done this last year. Why didn’t I start this sooner. I would be making money by now if I started a year ago. I didn’t want to have  any of those words come out of my mouth ever again. So I hopped online and asked a friend his opinion about a few online courses and he came back with wonderful advice. Next thing I knew I am investing in me, and signed up for a year of learning.

I am a few steps further from that quote and although nervous I am happy I took the leap. As I get more into the course my nervousness fades and my excitement builds. The more designs I create, lessons I learn with photo editing and design the more I see where I am supposed to be. These classes are giving me a greater ability to create, build, design, share and teach, which allows me to give even more to you. Empowering myself and investing in me, means I can then give you better tools and products to cultivate your creative business dreams.

What are you going to do today, this very minute, that will keep you from saying

“Why didn’t I do this years ago”?

Leave a Reply

